Watts was a serious individual, so it may therefore come as no
surprise that his marriage to the teenage actress Ellen Terry,
was short lived.
In later life he married Mary Fraser-Tyter ( 1886) who was 36 years
his junior. Mary devoted the rest of her life to her husband, both
during his life and after his death.
In 1891 Watts made Limnerslease his winter retreat and it remained
so until his death in 1904. Mary Watts, his second wife and the
inspiration behind the move to Compton and the Chapel, continued to
live there until she died in 1938.
Shortly before his death in 1904, G F Watts saw the opening of the
first and main portion of 'Watts Picture Gallery' ( 1903)
For 21 years Compton resident Richard Jeffries served as curator at
Watts Gallery. He retired in 2006 and Mark Bills took on this responsibility. Mark brings a wealth of experience in 19th century art, having worked at the Museum of London, English Heritage and Cartwright Hall Art Gallery.